National Sausage Competition 2010

Northern Ireland’s Butchers were challenged to create the perfect sausage recipe – traditional or gourmet – as part of National Sausage week. This was their opportunity to show off the creativity and innovation which exists locally.

2010 National Sausage Competition Northern Ireland – Winners!


Londonderry – Alan Toms, JE Toms and Sons, Portstewart

Down – David Burns of David Burns, Bangor

Antrim – Robert Jones, R Jones Family Butchers, Carrickfergus

Armagh – Simon & John Dowey, Lurgan

Tyrone – Gary Coote, Gary Coote Meats, Fivemiletown

Belfast – Mark Warwick, Warwick’s Butchers, Holywood Road, Belfast

Fermanagh – Kevin McGovern, Belleek

Independant Retailers (NIIRTA) – Hamiltons Spar Butchers, Castlederg

Gourmet Winner – Tom McMaster, Home Farm Meats, Whitehead, Co. Antrim, Your 5 a day

McEvoy Award for Technical Sausage Making – HJ (Harry) Marquiss, Marquiss Meats, Muckamore

Elite Butchers Award – David Trimble, Fresh Food Centre, Castlewellan, Co. Down

Chefs Choice Award – Brendan Arthur, Arthur’s Meats, Portaferry

Innovation – Adrian Boyd, JD Hunters & Co. Supermarket, Mohan St., Markethill, Pork, Stuffing and Cranberry Sausages

Robert Jones, R Jonees Family Butchers, Carrickfergus, Ultimate Breakfast

Pedigree Pork Award – Deborah Anderson, Broomcottage, Greyabbey

Overall Winner and Housewife’s Choice – David Burns, David Burns Butchers, Bangor